17 octobre, 2017

IAAF Diamond League Champions: Middle and Long Distance

Caster Semenya and Ruth Jebet defended their titles from last season, while Mo Farah secured the Diamond Trophy in his final ever track race. Take a look back at how the 2017 Diamond League Champions were crowned in the middle and long distances.

Men's middle distance

Having won the 800m Diamond Trophy two years in a row in 2014 and 2015, Nijel Amos was out to reclaim his crown this season. Returning to action in Paris, the Botswanan delivered a flawless series of four consecutive victories in qualifying before beating Adam Kszczot over the line in the Brussels Final to take the Diamond Trophy. 

Consistent in qualifying, Timothy Cheruiyot made three top three finishes in the  1500m qualifying meetings, including one victory in Stockholm. At the Zurich Final, he faced some tough competition in the likes of Elijah Motonei Manangoi, Silas Kiplagat and Asbel Kiprop, but prevailed to claim the Diamond Trophy.

Women's middle distance

Every time Caster Semenya appeared in an 800m qualifying meeting, she proceeded to win it, taking four victories throughout the season to extend the dominance she enjoyed in last year's campaign. The Zurich Final was no different, as Semenya surged to victory to defend her 2016 title. 

Faith Kipyegon won the opening meeting in the 1500m with victory in Shanghai, but Sifan Hassan was also among the favourites by the time the Final came around, having taken two victories in qualifying and beaten Kipyegon in Paris. The Kenyan, though, triumphed in Brussels, overtaking Hassan on the home straight. 

Women's long distance

Successful in various disciplines in 2017, Hellen Obiri's most impressive performances were once again reserved for the 5000m, where she took three victories in the qualifying meetings at Shanghai, Rome and Monaco. That set the stage for a consummate victory in the Brussels Final and a Diamond Trophy for the Kenyan. 

World record breaker and Olympic Champion in 2016, Ruth Jebet could hardly improve this year. She struggled in the qualifying meetings, not managing to finish higher than third at any point, but made up for it in the Zurich Final, as she charged ahead of the rest of the field to defend her Diamond Trophy in the 3000m Steeplechase

Men's long distance

Perhaps the story of the Diamond League season was Mo Farah's dramatic victory in the 5000m Zurich. At his final ever track race, the British legend valiantly held off Muktar Edris, Yomif Kejelcha and Paul Chelimo to clinch victory by just four hundredths of a second and end his track career with a Diamond Trophy.

Conseslus Kipruto opened the qualifying with victory in Rome, but it would take him until the Brussels Final to see his next Diamond League win in the 3000m Steeplechase. That was the one that mattered, however, as Kipruto defended his Diamond Trophy from 2016, chasing down Soufiane El-Bakkali in the last 20 metres to take a dramatic victory.